Cell Phones on the Golf Course. What’s your policy?

11 05 2011

 

As with most people who love golf, I don’t feel that I get to play as much as I would like, so when a golf getaway with a group of buddies presented itself this past weekend I leapt at the opportunity! The weekend came complete with a Friday night pairings party where the teams were divided up and the format was selected.

It was during this get together that our host for the one private course that we were playing announced, in what can only be described as an emphasized whisper, that everyone needs to remember to not bring their cell phones out on the golf course. Now, as I have stated many times before in this space, I’m no dummy. I didn’t raise a question at the time of the announcement nor did I during any portion of the trip. I was a guest and acted accordingly … and I have to tell you I am glad that I did, the course was awesome!

It did get me thinking privately, however, whether or not those types of rules make practical sense in the day and age of the smart phone.

Ten years ago? Sure, especially at private golf courses where individual reputations tend to be on the line with each round played, and being the guy who yakked away on his tele while it was his turn to putt was an easy way to find yourself hanging around the shop looking for a game. But as I longed to get scores for my favorite basketball team while I was finishing up my 36 holes for that day it just seemed, well, unnecessary.

I don’t think I need to go into full detail all the things that our phones can now do, but I do think that I can best illustrate country club cell phone rules best through a simple time:

Old Tom Morris – 1995: No real need for any policy, though caddying as a kid I can remember the “box” cell phone being dragged out on the course by doctors (very much warranted) and important business folk (not so much). Good thing those went on a cart, they were the size of a defibrillator!

1996 -1999: These things are starting to show up everywhere, and I can remember working at a private club and this beginning to be an issue that was brought up at Board meetings.

2000-2004: Everyone has a cell phone and we are all yakking away on them. Many country clubs -mostly private and resort- have policies against talking on cell phones on the golf course and I can tell you that fellow golfers/members were indeed policing their own. These were the really contentious years.

2005-2008: Somewhere in here most of us starting texting and/or taking pictures of stuff with our phones. Quieter? Sure. Less distracting to others in the group? Maybe. Maybe not.

2009-Present: iPhones. Apps. Blackberries. Android networks. These things have become such an integral part of our lives, that spending 5 hours without your phone seems like an eternity. Outside of airplane flights I think the 2008 US Open at Torrey was the last time I went that long without my phone before Saturday’s round. (Speaking of Torrey, the fact that they now allow you to bring your phone onto the golf course but strongly discouraged texting tells you that the PGA Tour is still trying to figure out how to balance the quiet and serenity of the golf course with the realism of today. I mean if you can’t text someone that you are meeting to tell them where you are on the golf course, what the heck else would you be able to do with the phone anyway?)

I hope I haven’t been misunderstood here, I love the silence and peace that a round of golf brings, I just think that we as a society have gotten over the freedom and excitement of running our gums on our cellular phones, and to be able to check a sports score or to be prepared for a fairly vital text by looking at your phone when its not your turn to play seems like an adult decision that can be made independently.

After my trip I asked JC Golf’s Director of Golf Sales and Marketing, and my good bud, Erik Johnson what his take on cell phone policies is and I thought he said it best, “I’ve got no problem with someone taking a cell phone out on the golf course, I just expect that they will put the golfing first and treat their usage with the same etiquette they would treat their playing partners and the golf course with.”

Perfect. Would he have had the same response in 2001?

Who cares, its 2011.
Greg

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 05 2011
Alan de la Sierra

Cell Phones. If people just texted or handled the calls “with the same etiquette” then I could accept it. I do not see that this is the case.. My observation is that few people silence their phones and do not seem to care whether their call impacts or disturbs others both on the course and off. That is the problem and it continues to get worse.

26 05 2011
JC Golf

Your points are absolutely valid Alan, most notably the part about turning off your ringer. That should be mandatory.

I would also like to think that the “silent etiquette” of not talking while someone else is playing their shot would transfer to cell phone usage, or at least I would hope so.

Thanks for reading.
Greg

4 08 2011
rich

I’ve rarely seen a problem with cell phones on the course, and they definitely help out when you’re sitting on the tee box on every hole waiting to play during your 5 hour round.

But I will tell a story of a friend who took his phone to Torrey Pines during a practice round at the Buick. He took a call 5 feet away from an official who started telling him to hang up, I and 2 other friends got in his face and told him to hang up while he continued to yak away on the phone. One friend eventually grabbed the phone from him. He later claimed he had no idea anyone was talking to him while he was on the call and to this day refuses to believe that 4 people were surrounding him telling him to hang up.

4 08 2011
JC Golf

Probably even gave a “relax, it’s only a practice round” too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

